Board of Directors

The BBC Board of Directors help set the long-term vision and direction of the center and the strategy for achieving that success; provide oversight for the center's finances and quality programming; and provide inspiring and supportive leadership.  Our Board members all hail from the Kanawha Valley- local community members that choose to share their talents and time throughout the year.  The BBC staff, students, and families are incredibly thankful for the BBC Board's dedication.

100 days of reading_edited.jpg
100 Days of Reading Proclamation: BBC Board VP, David Mincer; Mayor Amy Shuler Goodwin; EBC Site Coordinator, Brittany Dempsey; and BBC Board Secretary, Shirley Layne.

2021-2022 BBC Board of Directors

Samuel Sommerville, President, Northeast Natural Energy, LLC

David Mincer, Vice President, Partner at Bailey and Wyant, PLLC

Shirley Layne, Secretary, Retired Kanawha County Schools

Chad Parker, Treasurer, Baker Tilly, LLP

Stacey Losh, West Virginia Department of Education

Alex Padon, Kanawha Scales and Systems

Taylor Raab, Janney Montgomery Scott

Destiny Spencer, Principal at Mary C. Snow West Side Elementary

Eddie Whitehead, Charleston Police Department

Tiara Woods, BBC Program Parent

Jean Cunningham, Board Member Emeritus, Alderson Broaddus University

If you are interested in learning more about what our Board does or in becoming an active member, please reach out to the Executive Director, Sarah Buckalew, via phone 304-720-0444 or email at